Events

Forthcoming Events

Most Thursdays:  Practice sessions in Burton Road Methodist Hall, Burton Road, Lincoln.  19:45 – 21:30.  Come along and join us, new dancers and musicians always welcome.  Experienced or beginner it would be lovely to see you.  During the summer danceout season, practices at the hall are more sporadic… Please get in touch first to check we are meeting.

2019 Danceout dates…

Aug 03 (Sat) Worlaby Village Day, North Lincolnshire. We were made very welcome last year – it’s great to be invited back.

Aug 24(Sat) Lincoln Steampunk Asylum. Being excellent to one another… Spiffing! (Provisional)

Sep 07 (Sat) Lincoln BIG Morris. It’s BIG, it’s Morrisy, and it’s on our home turf…. of course we’ll be there!

More dates are now being added all the time as bookings and invites come in.  Be sure to check back often.

Morris On!

Recent Past Events

2019

Jul 21 (Sun) Busking in and around Lincoln with Neustadt Trachengruppe from Lincoln’s twin town in Germany, and the Lincoln & Micklebarrow Morris Men.

Jul 20 (Sat) Newark Traditions Festival. We will be joined at Newark by a German folk dance team from Lincoln’s twin town Neustadt an Weinstrasse.

Jul 13 (Sat) Ely Folk Festival. The sun usually shines on us in Ely – that’s why we like going back to dance here. 2019 is no exception.

Jul 06 (Sat) Lincoln Busking Festival. Poacher Morris will have dance spots in the afternoon outside the Cathedral, and St Paul in the Bail. We hope to be joined by some Morris friends too. Come and see the original street dance!

Jun 08 (Sat) Southwell Folk Festival. Just down the A46 (and right a bit) from Lincoln. A regular danceout for Poacher Morris. (Southwell 2019 Photos)

Jun 06 (Thu) Local danceout at the Queen Victoria, Lincoln. From 19:45 (ish) onwards.

May 23 (Thu) Local Danceout from 19:45. Starting outside the Cathedral, and then moving on to St Paul in the Bail.

May 11 (Sat) Holmfirth Festival of Folk. One of our favourite Festivals, nestled in the Pennines. Despite the showers it was a great day out.

May 05 (BH Sun) Kirton in Lindsey Spring Festival. Celebrating the coming of May in a local town. (Kirton in Lindsey Photos 2019)

Mar 30 (Sat) Joint Morris Organisation (JMO) Day of Dance, Manchester. Massed Morris in Manchester, featuring sides from the Morris Federation, Open Morris, and the Morris Ring. We were one of them! (JMO 2019 Photos)

2018

Oct 27 (Sat)  Batemans Brewery Beer, Gin, & Rum Festival, Wainfleet. A wonderful dance out in a great atmosphere. We had a fantastic time – an excellent way to end the season. (Bateman’s Photos 2018)

Sep 01 (Sat)  Lincoln BIG Morris Festival.  Big and Morris-y and in Lincoln…. of course we were there.  (Lincoln BIG 2018 Photos)

Aug 25 (Sat)  Lincoln Steampunk Asylum.  Splendid! (Steampunk 2018 Photos)

Aug 04 (Sat)  Worlaby Village Day, North Lincolnshire.  A fun afternoon! (Worlaby 2018 Photos)

Jul 21 (Sat)  Newark Traditions Festival.  In only it’s 2nd year, this was new festival for us and we had a fine old time. it. (Newark 2018 Photos)

Jul 19 (Thu) Busking danceout in Uphill Lincoln.  Plenty of appreciative audience for a weekday and the sun was shining!

Jul 07 (Sat)  Lincoln Busking Festival, unsurprisingly in Lincoln!  We enjoyed performing in the sun throughout the day somewhere around Castle Square and/or the Cathedral Yard.  🙂

Jun 21 (Thu) Summer Solstice Danceout Photos

Jun 16 (Sat)  Beverley Fringe Festival. The main Beverley Folk Festival may have been cancelled, but the Fringe continues.  Poacher Morris are delighted to be involved.  (Beverley 2018)

Jun 09 (Sat)  Southwell Festival.  A welcome return to one of our favourite festivals.  (Southwell 2018)

May 19 (Sat)  Joint Morris Organisation (JMO) Day of Dance, Peterborough.  Many, many, Morris sides of many traditions from all over the UK – a good day.  (JMO Photos 2018).

Saturday 12 May 2018:  Holmfirth Festival of Folk.  Nestled deep in the Pennines, a welcome return to this cosy little festival in the centre of town.  (Holmfirth Photos 2018).

Sunday 06 May 2018:  A good start to the 2018 danceout season at the Bluebell Wood Goat sanctuary and Farm Shop.  A small but appreciative audience and a first Poacher Morris danceout for 3 new members.  (Bluebell Goats Photos 2018).

Older Poacher Morris events are in the Events Archive

Leave a Reply